Dulles Chamber’s Annual Business Award Winners Announced

Tysons Today Around Town

Loudoun Sheriff, Legislators, Business Leaders Attended Annual Business Awards Event

The Dulles Regional Chamber of Commerce announced its annual business awards winners at the “Stars Over Dulles” Awards Luncheon event on Wednesday, Dec. 13 at Hilton Washington Dulles Airport in Herndon. The master of ceremonies was James Lawson, Chairman of the Board, Dulles Regional Chamber of Commerce.

Guests in attendance at the event included Sheriff Mike Chapman, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office; Virginia Delegate Jennifer Boysko; Town of Herndon Mayor Lisa Merkel; Town of Herndon Vice Mayor Jennifer Baker; and many regional business and community leaders.

The award winners were presented with a Congressional Record recognition by a representative of the office of Congressman Gerry Connolly (D-VA 11th District) and a Congressional Proclamation by a representative from the office of Congresswoman Barbara Comstock (R-VA 10th District).

Fun activities punctuated the event, including a visit from Santa Claus, who gave each of the award winners a Southwest Airlines airline ticket, courtesy of Karen Price-Ward, Community Affairs & Grassroots Manager, Southwest Airlines. DJ Karpediem, a locally-based and internationally known deejay, provided the music for the event.

“The Dulles Regional Chamber of Commerce was proud to host our annual Stars Over Dulles event to recognize exemplary companies and organizations in the Dulles region,” said John Boylan, President and CEO, Dulles Regional Chamber of Commerce. “It was a difficult decision to choose between the finalists but our Board selected outstanding winners for the 2017 awards.”

Congratulations to:

Transportation Leader:

Paul J. Wiedefeld, General Manager and CEO,  Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (award accepted by Gregory Potts)

Workforce Leader:

Madhu Garlanka, CEO, Software Products, Allwyn Corporation

Bank Leader:

MainStreet Bank (award accepted by Jeff Dick)

Hospitality Leader:

Westfields Marriott Washington Dulles (award accepted by Sharon Meyers)

Small Business Leader:

Jay Johnson, CEO, Five Minute Productions

Business Leader:

Geoffrey Lawson, VP & GM, The National Conference Center

Innovation Leader:

Praduman Jain, CEO,  Vibrent Health

Arts Leader:

Laura Readyoff, Owner, The Music Loft, LLC

Distinguished Veteran:

Jim Kuiken, The Kuiken Group

Nonprofit Leader:

Children’s Science Center (award accepted by Nene Spivy)

Corporate Social Responsibility:

John Sekas,  Sekas Homes, Ltd.

New Chamber Member:

Mustang Sally Brewing Company (award accepted by Sean Hunt)

First Responder Agency of the Year:

Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office (award accepted by Loudoun County Sheriff Mike Chapman)

Eileen Curtis Lifetime Achievement Award:

Art Anselene, Town of Herndon (retired)